Author Archives: Dirk Martens

Study on the provider market for VR, AR & MR in Germany

von Dirk Martens · 24. July 2020

Cooperation instead of competition: In Germany, VR innovations are driven forward collaboratively. The coronavirus has isolated us all globally and locally, but at the same time has brought us closer together digitally, thus further opening the door to a virtually connected world. Not only videotelephony but also VR, AR and XR technologies will be used Weiterlesen …

3D Sound Increases the Immersion of Moving Images Considerably – but Which Format is the Right One?

von Dirk Martens · 16. May 2019

Various "immersive" 3D sound formats have evolved, who is pioneering this race? Results of a study for ARTE have now been published by mebulive (Medien Bulletin). Weiterlesen …

Real Time Response – Old Technology that Continues to Inspire

von Dirk Martens · 17. April 2018

“Real Time Response Measurement” (RTR) is an instrument-based research method whose origins date back to the 1930s. Despite its age, it is anything but outdated. With this method, media content can be evaluated to the second and simultaneously upon reception. This is done by respondents in focus groups or larger Hall-Tests. Paul Felix Lazarsfeld is Weiterlesen …

In Harmony: On the Similarity of Radio Programme

von Dirk Martens · 27. July 2017

Is there any truth to the accusation that radio stations “all sound the same”? House of Research has empirically investigated how large the overlaps in the playlists of the programmes actually are. Even if there are no programmes that are 100% identical, the overlap is still surprisingly high. In the Horizont 30/2017, excerpts of the Weiterlesen …

House of Research at the re:publica

von Dirk Martens · 15. May 2017

As a founding member of Virtual Reality e. V. Berlin-Brandenburg, we exhibited together at the Media Convention as part of re:publica. Also exhibiting were the other members UFA Lab, Fraunhofer HHI, Clipessence and I-Mersive. Our main topics were digital transformation processes of media change, in the 4.0 areas of industry and services as well as Weiterlesen …

Which Radio Station Plays the “most” Music?

von Dirk Martens · 17. November 2016

With jingles and slogans many radio stations in Germany often announce not only that they play the “greatest hits” of the last decades, but also the “most music”. What does that actually mean? To find out, House of Research has examined the top 3 advertising programmes in the various broadcasting regions on the basis of Weiterlesen …

Always Online

von Dirk Martens · 1. February 2016

What used to be considered science fiction is now (virtual) reality. The world of media use is changing faster than ever before. Smartphones are always at hand, and media content can be accessed almost anywhere and at any time. What is the current state of affairs and what can you expect in the near future Weiterlesen …

Panel discussion on the future of radio at detektor.fm with Dirk Martens

von Dirk Martens · 3. December 2010

On 3 December 2010, the radio station detektor.fm celebrated its first birthday and, to mark the occasion, organised a panel discussion on the question “How is the Internet changing broadcasting? Moderated by Christian Rost from the Competence Centre for Cultural and Creative Industries, the following people discussed the topic Dirk Martens (Managing Director House of Weiterlesen …

Author Archives: Dirk Martens

House of Research feiert 20-Jähriges

von Dirk Martens · 20. Oktober 2020

Im Oktober 2000 wurde House of Research gegründet: Ein guter Zeitpunkt, um wieder unseren Kunden, Mitarbeitern und Freunden ein großes Danke zu sagen. Vor 20 Jahren gründete ich House of Research in Hamburg als Medienforschungsinstitut. Die ersten Auftraggeber waren zeitgleich Klassik Radio in Hamburg und Radio Arabella in München. Die Aufgaben damals waren vor allem Weiterlesen …

3D-Sound steigert die Immersion von Bewegtbild erheblich – aber welches Format ist das richtige?

von Dirk Martens · 16. Mai 2019

Diverse "immersive" 3D-Sound-Formate haben sich entwickelt, wer macht das Rennen? Ergebnisse einer Studie für ARTE sind jetzt bei mebulive (Medien Bulletin) erschienen. Weiterlesen …

Real Time Response – alte Technologie, die nach wie vor begeistert

von Dirk Martens · 17. April 2018

„Real Time Response Measurement“ (RTR) ist ein apparatives Forschungsverfahren, dessen Ursprünge bis in die 1930er Jahre zurückreichen. Trotz des Alters ist es alles andere als überholt. Mit dieser Methode lassen sich Medieninhalte sekundengenau und zeitgleich zur Rezeption durch Probanden in Fokusgruppen oder größeren Hall-Tests evaluieren. Paul Felix Lazarsfeld ist vielen Lesern durch seine soziographische Studie Weiterlesen …

Im Einklang: Über die Ähnlichkeit von Radioprogrammen

von Dirk Martens · 27. Juli 2017

Was ist dran am Vorwurf, dass Radiosender „alle gleich klingen“ würden? House of Research hat empirisch untersucht, wie groß die Überschneidungen der Playlisten der Programme tatsächlich sind. Auch wenn es keine 100-prozentig identischen Programme gibt, so sind die Überschneidungen teilweise dennoch erstaunlich hoch. Im Horizont 30/2017 wurden nun Auszüge der Untersuchung veröffentlicht (hier). Beitragsbild: ©WavebreakmediaMicro/Fotolia Weiterlesen …

House of Research bei der re:publica

von Dirk Martens · 15. Mai 2017

Als Gründungsmitglied des Virtual Reality e. V. Berlin-Brandenburg stellten wir gemeinsam auf der Media Convention im Rahmen der re:publica aus. Mit dabei waren auch die weiteren Mitglieder UFA Lab, Fraunhofer HHI, Clipessence und I-Mersive. Unsere Themenschwerpunkte waren digitale Transformationsprozesse des Medienwandels, in den 4.0-Bereichen Industrie und Dienstleistung sowie dem gesellschaftlichen Wandel. Weiterlesen …

Welcher Radiosender spielt die „meiste“ Musik?

von Dirk Martens · 17. November 2016

Mit Jingles und Slogans verkünden viele Radiosender in Deutschland oftmals nicht nur, dass sie die „größten Hits“ der letzten Jahrzehnte, sondern auch die „meiste Musik“ spielen. Was heißt das eigentlich? Um das herauszufinden hat House of Research auf Basis der Tagesreichweite die Top 3 der werbeführenden Programme in den verschiedenen Sendegebieten untersucht. Lesen Sie den Weiterlesen …

Always Online

von Dirk Martens · 1. Februar 2016

Was früher als Science-Fiction galt, ist heute (virtuelle) Realität. Die Welt der Mediennutzung ändert sich schneller als je zuvor. Das Smartphone ist stets zur Hand, mediale Inhalte sind fast immer und überall abrufbar. Wie ist der Stand der Dinge und was kommt bald auf uns zu, wenn es um das Thema Mediennutzung geht? Fast die Weiterlesen …